So the alpha of the pack was actually the old guy at the back making sure nobody got left behind and not…

The loud prancing boisterous one at the front acting like a “macho” tool. It’s the quiet one making sure that all members of the party are present, and accounted for. Keeping the other members from falling behind, or falling away from the group. Hm. Wonder why that interpretation didn’t take off? No glory in stoicism, or it doesn’t feel as macho to watch out for others, and take up the rear guard I guess. Less notoriety to be the last one in, last one out. Young bloods want to lead and be exciting, but real leadership, comes from care, observation, slow and determined actions that lift everybody up. Not first come first served, bared teeth, and too much snarling. That’s all performative, and not a value add quality. What an interesting turn of events. Might have to read up on that a bit more. Myths of the alpha wolf. The lone big guy clawing his way to the top. And not, say, the leading breeding pair and their family whom take care of the youngest first, and foremost. Crazy.

Tried to stay up and watch SNL last night, but I just couldn’t do it. Whether it was because I was tired from climbing earlier that afternoon, or the skits just weren’t hitting on all cylinders, or whatever. I called it quits by midnight, and was soundly asleep about twenty minutes later.had a good run at the autobelay climbing though. I tried mostly 5.6, 5.7, and a few 5.8’s. Oddly enough I could do the .8’s more often than the .7’s. Maybe I was cheating, but somehow I put my hand on more top holds in the higher rated routes than the mid tier ones. I’m definitely not technically proficient as a climber. I would love to find an entry level/novice group whom could teach-show me some manoeuvres for getting up around certain obstacles or layouts on the wall. My guess is, is that I should work privately 9n grip strength, core strength, and flexibility so that I can hang, and place my feet more easily when climbing. Losing weight would help my arms, and hanging ability by not putting as.much stress on my arms, shoulders, and hands. Not that I want to start running. Though I had a good stretch of time on an elliptical in August. I was putting up some solid step counts, and calorie burn numbers if I recall. At least for me it felt that way. Very consistent.

Oddly enough engagement was up, and we were all disconnected. How very strange.

Usually I realize something is off when my numbers dip for more than a one day period, but I’ve had a pretty good following the last few days so I did not notice the old Jet Pack/WordPress and LinkedIn disconnection problem that crops up every three months or so. I have once again remedied that issue, but honestly I don’t know for how much longer I intend to use LinkedIn, as I don’t feel like I can use it to find work, smaller to mid sized clientele, or leads for new corporate clients. Seems like a fair bit of noise to me.

I’m having to think about dropping Twitter, as not as many people that I liked to follow are still there anymore. I also don’t want to join Threads, BlueSky, Mastadon, or any other new fangled social site. I’ll keep with Reddit, IG, YouTube for now. I might drop Deviant Art too, but I haven’t made up my mind. I would need to drastically update my portfolio page in order to do that, and then I would lose all my sculpture photography & exhibits. That isn’t exactly a win for me.

I got with dropping Facebook too, but I still have 99% of my family on there, and I’d lose decades worth of photo curation if I left. Although, truth be told, I’m not able to look through most of the very early photo collections, as I think those are corrupted, or gone from Facebook anyway. Not sure what happened there. My England trip, my Vegas Trip, my very early design pieces are all greyed out squares that cycle, and cycle, but never appear. Or I can see photos, click on them, and get a blank page returned. Sad to see them lost into the wind. All of that stuff is on old phones from decades (plural) ago. Nice.

I have our second to last rock climbing session today, which is exciting. I’m sad it’ll be done, but I think we’ll be back in January! I hope. Or atleast I will be. On another note I really need to wrap some Christmas presents this week coming because the holiday is not far away anymore. Middle of the week, after this coming week. Ten or eleven days from now! Yikes. I’m going to need more tape! So much more tape.

We finally saw the Leafs play at home!

The big ticket birthday present for my eldest daughter was an evening out to downtown Toronto, for some public transit, a meal, some souvenirs, and an at home Leafs game at the former ACC, now Scotia Bank Arena. We sat in section 324 up in the rafters, but the view of the ice was unobstructed, the crowd loud, and action on the ice exciting! We won 3-2 against the Anaheim Ducks, wearing their orange & whites. We sported our brand new Fanatics Leafs jerseys, and had a good time. We sat Carlton the Bear banging his drum. Got on the jumbo tron for a few seconds, and narrowly missed winning some swag. All in all a great time. All told it was nearing seven hours, so a bit of a commitment time wise, but time well spent with my daughter.

My daughter bough a puck with some birthday money from her uncle Steve. I bought a t-shirt because the local SportsChek sells out of my size almost immediately. Plus the way they security tag their t-shirts pretty much ruins them, so I’ll give their tees a pass from now on. Also three hundred bones for a jersey is too rich for me, so we opted for the thinner versions, with no names or numbers. Saved two hundred bucks per jersey that way. These will fit us for years to come!

Unfortunately we now have to wait until January to go again. Once more as a Christmas present to my daughter. Once as my own Christmas present. And again as a birthday gift to myself. I’m going again one more time in march, but I’ll take my buddy with me as by then my daughter will have done four games, and may be “over it” after that many visits. Doesn’t take long to acclimate to something new, no matter how extraordinary it is. Humans – so adaptable.

Our section up in the ceiling!
Ice is clearly visible though, and lots of leg room.
Design of the space meant we could hear ever stick thunk, boot clack, ice smack, and puck ricochet from our seats with ease.

We left home some time around 4:30pm, and we home a little after 11:25pm. Made for a long night full of walking, and lots, and lots of stairs. We did manage to figure out both the trains, and the busing, so that’s a headache I nolonger have. And my google wallet worked great, so no concerns about the tickets there either. That’s a load off. Bathrooms, and food were near by, and the seats were padded, and warm. It was by all accounts a great evening. Can not wait to go again.

Sun is out! Booyah!

But the windchill puts it at -15°C, do that’s pretty chilly out there walk walking around, or worse yet – working. Dress warm ladies and gents. What could be better on a cold day than going downtown to our first at home Leafs game at the ACC (Scotia Bank Arena). Just like the Skydome, this will always be the ACC to me. Change the title on the building all you want by selling the rights, but the name stays the same in my mind. Sorry, that’s just how it is.

I saw the Ducks losing to Ottawa last night 4-0 before I switched channels, so I hope that the Leafs can pull out a win while we are watching from the stands. We have our jerseys in hand, and some team spirit to share with the crowd. The last game we saw was in Tampa Bay and it was 90°F outside at the time. We will have to prep a little differently to enjoy tonights game here in southern Ontario in mid December  let me tell you.

Still trying go decide if we want to take the train from Rouge Hill, or a bus from the station 2Km north of us. The train is faster, but I’d have to pay to park. Or get free parking and a longer ride down/back. But, less chance of car theft/break in up here, as opposed to down in Scarborough. Decisions decisions. Either way the weather is going to be cold, and blustery, and generally unpleasant.

My guess is we are going to eat inside the arena, so not much else to worry about beyond hot dogs or hamburgers. That and what we’re going to drink to wash it all down. Thirteen dollar bottle of Powerade, or a twenty dollar Tall Boy! Ha.

Nice to see a blue sky today though. It has been missed in among all these grey, foggy, rainy days. Last night had a quick splurge of snowfall from out of nowhere. Just randomly started and stopped suddenly. Gotta love winter, and unpredictable weather. Blue sky and sunshine are a nice touch though. I’ll take it!

Do I trust your engineer?

More than most people in this instance I would, yes. However, I have noticed the same issue on two separate sets of drawings, and I don’t think that you see it, in your professional capacity. Which gives me pause. But, I think you will definitely see the issue when you have to go to press with those drawings and come face to face with the issue. A simple oversight. Whoopsie daisy! I’m sure we’ll get it sorted between all of us involved.

Wednesday is here! Another glum, gloomy, foggy, rainy day up for grabs. Any takers? Yes, no, maybe so? I need to clean a big more as we will have a guest this afternoon. So I’m going to run the vacuum around, and mop the floors, and clean the bathroom up just a bit. Happy hump day.

This damn elf.

Somebody thought it was a great idea to introduce an Elf on the Shelf into our home, and now it’s this big obligation, and I fucking hate it. I hate the idea of surveillance for one thing. Lying to my kids about some “magical elf conduit to Santa” that moves around. Not only that it seems to be more of a way for parents to fuck with their kids, and be mean, more so than adding to the Christmas spirit of joy, and cheerfulness. Do you know how hard it is already to mask my hand writing to add Santa labels on presents, and now I have to write full on notes in yet another style of handwriting that isn’t my own, or Santa’s? It’s really tiresome. I love decorations. I love music. I love going to see lights, tree lighting ceremonies, Christmas markets, and school events. I like movies, plays, and books about Christmas. But this is a step I’m none too fond of. In fact I hate it.

I’d like to say that this is the end of my rant, but I’m more angry that it was foisted upon us without any considerations for the obligations it brings. No body even asked us if we wanted it. I know that we have expressed a disdain for the idea openly, and that was ignored. They could have bought it, and kept it at their own house, and done all of the little tableaus, notes, pranks, and more themselves. But no! It became our obligation to do all that, so that they could just bring it up, over, and over, and over again. Never dropping the subject. But also never doing anything significant with it themselves. Must be  nice. Just like them, constantly making plans for other people to have to do, with zero follow through required on their part. It’s kind of ridiculous. Now my kids are in the middle of it. Sure, cool. Use childlike wonder against us. Love it. Why not.

In other news the fog rolled in like this was an east coast town. So thick, and moist. Very damp out there today. Early this morning you could hardly see more than eight to ten feet in front of your nose. On the plus side the roads were clear, and it wasn’t icy. The rains have washed much of our snow accumulation away. Back to mushy green grass, and lots of mud. It’s a gay old time!

I don’t think I’ve been sleeping well because I am feeling exhausted right now.

Oh yeah, that rain is going to turn into ice. Just you watch and see. BINGO!

Not a particularly nice day outside. Slightly below zero temperatures and a fairly heavy rain means we are likely to develope freezing rain this afternoon,evening, night once the temperatures drop again. Not a pleasant thought. Driving in modest snowfall is one thing, but black ice, or freezing rain is another, much worse thing to have to deal with. If I have my wauly that would mean ZERO additional travel after school today, should the conditions for freezing rain/black ice be met. Why risk it? Makes no sense.

In other news we had my eldest daughters tenth birthday party over the weekend at a local theater where we watched the new Moana 2. It was colourful, and charming if not particularly heavy on plot. All of the ten year olds seemed to like it, and my youngest, plus our five year old niece liked it a fair bit too. When they sat down and paid attention that is. Damn near cost me a good chunk of change, but that’s parenthood for you. I paid for the privilege of not having to clean up, make food, bake a cake, or entertain twelve kids of varying ages for the better part of three hours. Call it a narrow win.

Although I will say this, as the kids get older the friend group requires less entertainment from us parents, and more freedom to just hang out, be loud, and just talk nonsense amongst themselves. We watch out for signs of a physical altercation, but otherwise offer them the latitude to occupy themselves however they wish. Plus we had food served, cupcakes, soda, and candy. They were all set to make of it what they will. Daughter was pleased, all that mattered to us.

Seven days in already.

My, my how time does fly by. Whether you want it to or not. Being busy seems to aid in said passage of time, but then again nothing really stops the clock, not even death. Here we are on a Saturday morning getting ready to go climb for 90 mi utes or so, depending on how well our hands, arms, thumbs can hold on for just one more climb. I might go and give the bouldering side of the gum a go today, I’m not sure yet. I like the rock climbing side because if I fall the rope is there to slow my fall. If you come off the bouldering side, you just come off and fall to the pads. I have a tendency to fall “funny” putting my knees and ankles in peril. I very much so don’t want to injure myself trying to get into better shape. I remember the hold I had to put on activity when I caught Covid to try a minimize the chance of developing Long Covid, which there has been no meaningful cure for since it turned up nearly five years ago now. Part of how I was up to 213lbs. That, and boredom, snacking, over eating, and a handful of other things I’m sure.

Little more than two weeks until Christmas break. Then the holidays, the new year, and we’ll be neck deep into winter at that point. A cold, and bleak period around these parts. Being able to count the number of blue sky days on one or two hands is the norm. Last year we had far more than normal blue sky sun filled days. It was glorious. I do love the lights, tree, and decorations up in the house, but you know what else I like? Space. Getting some much needed room back from removing the tree will go a long way in brightening up the living room during the day. One window is blocked by the tree and it feels a little glum in there during the day.

We are set to go to our first at home Leafs game next week. I for one am excited! It will be a late night for my daughter, with school the next day. So she might do ok for the first game just on adrenaline alone, but I think she will quickly grow accustomed to it over our four game stretch. Ha. Sadly we don’t have the same caliber of seats that we had in Amalie Arena in Tampa Bay for the Leafs last regular season game back in April. Four rows back from the ice, behind the net. Amazing for our first experience with the NHL. Kucherov scored his 100th point/assist. We got flags for fan appreciation day. It was cool. Very memorable.

Entered the realm of double digit aged children.

Where did the last ten years go? She was  my tiny football sized baby being washed in the sink just a few moments ago! Now she’s a talented Taekwondo combatant, rock climbing, hockey fan, whom plays the saxophone. My oh my how time does fly. I should probably bake a cake or something for her to have once school gets out today.

Happy birthday!